Rodney Young, Chief Executive Officer and President
Delta Dental of Minnesota

Rodney Young, CEO and PresidentRodney Young became Chief Executive Officer and President of Delta Dental of Minnesota, January 1, 2012.  He has served on the Board of Delta Dental of Minnesota since 1998, and will continue in that role as well.

Young oversees the strategic direction of Delta Dental of Minnesota, one of the largest independent, nonprofit providers of dental benefits in the nation. Delta Dental of Minnesota serves Minnesota and North Dakota based purchasing groups with over 3.8 million members nationwide. Delta Dental of Minnesota is committed to ensuring its members have access to affordable oral health care delivered by superior oral health providers.

Young is a 25-year veteran of the medical technology field. He most recently served as chief executive officer of Angeion Corporation (a publicly-held medical device manufacturer). He has also served as chair, president and chief executive officer of LecTec Corporation (a publicly-held medical device and pharmaceutical company), and as vice president at Chicago-based Baxter International (health care company).

Young also held several positions with 3M’s medical product division. He began his career in pharmaceutical sales with the Upjohn Company and holds a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration from Truman State University.

Young serves on the board of directors for Allina Health System and Angeion Corporation. He was the recipient of the National Association of Corporate Directors (NACD) and Twin Cities Magazine 2010 Outstanding Directors Award for his board service to Possis Medical.


Douglas A. Alger
Board Vice Chair
Sr. Vice President, Human Resources
American Express Financial Advisors, Inc. (retired)

John M. Anderson, D.D.S. 
Scottsdale, AZ

Susan C. Anderson, D.D.S.
St. Paul, MN

John W. Bluford
President and Chief Executive Officer
Truman Medical Center (Missouri)

Bernard L. Brommer 
Board Secretary
President Emeritus
Minnesota AFL-CIO

Paul F. Carlson, D.D.S.
Fairmont, MN

Michael W. Howe, Ph. D.
Board Chair
MW Howe Consulting, LLC

Deb S. Knutson
Senior Vice President, Human Resources,
Learning and Facilities

Lois M. Martin
Chief Financial Officer

William C. Mixon
President & CEO
Universal Hospital Services, Inc. 

Kathleen P. Pepski
Board Treasurer
Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer
Hawkins, Inc.

Philip I. Smith
Managing Director
Greene, Holcomb & Fisher, LLC

John D. Somrock
Chair Emeritus

James R. Swanstrom, D.D.S.
Duluth, MN

R. Bruce Templeton, D.M.D.
Edina, MN

Rodney A. Young
Chief Executive Officer and President 
Delta Dental of Minnesota

Michael Zakula, D.D.S.
Hibbing, MN